Beam Team presents, wins awards at TMS 2020

Congratulations to Dr. Sean Mills (pictured at left, center), recent Beam Team PhD graduate, for winning first place in the “Fatigue in read more

Congratulations, Dr. Jinesh Dahal!

Beam Team member Jinesh Dahal successfully defended his thesis in January 2020: “In situ diffraction investigations of mechanisms that ... read more

Additive manufacturing of shape memory alloys creates efficient, eco-friendly cooling technology

The Alliance for the Development of Additive Processing Technologies (ADAPT) at Colorado School of Mines was part of an international ... read more

Congratulations, Dr. Sean Mills!

Congratulations to the Beam Team’s newest PhD, Sean Mills! Sean successfully defended his thesis on Oct. 28, 2019, to complete ... read more

Tom Gallmeyer wins GVSETS 2019 Best Paper Award

PhD student Thomas Gallmeyer won the Best Paper Award at GVSETS 2019. The 11th annual GVSETS & APBI (Ground Vehicle Systems ... read more

Stebner is visiting researcher at ICYS in Japan

Dr. Aaron Stebner spent the summer as a visiting researcher at the International Center for Young Scientists (ICYS) at the National ... read more

Mines partners with Adam Savage to build 3D-printed Iron Man suit

Mines’ Advanced Manufacturing Program Director Craig Brice and several of his students worked with Adam Savage on an episode of ... read more

Beam Team students win GRADS awards

Congratulations to Beam Team PhD students Sean Mills and Nathan Johnson for winning awards at CSM GRADS 2019! Mills won best poster ... read more

Beam Team presents at TMS 2019

Beam Team students and faculty presented their latest research findings at TMS 2019 in San Antonio, Texas, the week of March 11. ... read more

3D experiments shed new light on shape memory alloys

Posted on Mines Newsroom at Check out the ... read more

Nathan Johnson awarded additive manufacturing fellowship by LANL

Nathan Johnson was awarded a fellowship by Los Alamos National Laboratory to study and model rapidly solidifying alloys. The fellowship read more

Dylan Cousins defends thesis on advanced thermoplastic composites

Congratulations to Beam Team PhD candidate Dylan Cousins for successfully defending his thesis, “Advanced Thermoplastic ... read more

NextGen fellowship in materials informatics a success

This article was adapted from a Mines Newsroom post on Aug. 9, 2018. Materials informatics is the next frontier of materials science, ... read more

Bucsek research chosen for cover of Acta Crystallographica Section A

The September cover article for Acta Crystallographica Section A is a study published by researchers from Colorado School of Mines and ... read more

Dylan Cousins wins Outstanding Technical Paper award

Beam Team PhD candidate Dylan Cousins has won “Best in Track: Advances in Materials” in the Outstanding Technical Paper ... read more

Nathan Johnson augments PhD research at Los Alamos Neutron Science Center

This past summer, Beam Team PhD candidate Nathan Johnson worked as a graduate research assistant in the Lujan Center at the Los Alamos ... read more

David Grimmer puts research into action at NASA Glenn

Beam Team PhD candidate David Grimmer participated in a summer internship at NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio, in the High read more

Prof. Aaron Stebner receives promotion and tenure

Congratulations, Dr. Stebner! read more

Beam Team postdoc Yasuhito Suzuki takes professorship in Japan

Congratulations to Dr. Yasuhito Suzuki on his new position as an assistant professor in the Department of Applied Chemistry at Osaka ... read more

Ashley Bucsek awarded postdoctoral fellowship

Recent PhD recipient Ashley Bucsek has been awarded the President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship for research at the University of ... read more

Henry Geerlings successfully defends master’s thesis

On March 29, MS candidate Henry Geerlings will defend his thesis entitled “Automated Feature Extraction and Characterization in ... read more

Garrison Hommer successfully defends PhD thesis

PhD candidate Garrison Hommer will defend his thesis on March 20. Hommer’s thesis is entitled “Mechanism of Dwell Fatigue ... read more

Beam Team presenting at TMS 2018

Prof. Aaron Stebner and Beam Team students will present at TMS 2018 in Phoenix, March 11–15. Dr. Aaron Stebner will give two invited ... read more

Paranjape, et al. publish article

An article by Beam Team postdoc alumnus Harshad Paranjape, Professor Aaron Stebner, and Kaushik Bhattacharya of the California ... read more

Amin-Ahmadi article published in Scripta Materialia

Beam Team Research Assistant Professor Behnam Amin-Ahamdi’s article entitled “Coherency strains of H-phase precipitates and read more

Beam Team shape memory alloy research flies with NASA

A NiTi20Hf shape memory alloy that was extensively studied by Beam Team researchers (Stebner 2014 and Bucsek 2016) has been used in the read more

Welcome to PhD candidate Peter Caltagirone!

The Beam Team welcomes new PhD candidate Peter Caltagirone! A Colorado native, Peter earned his BS in Mechanical Engineering at Mines ... read more

Moorthy defends thesis

Congratulations to Beam Team member Senthamilaruvi Moorthy for successfully defending his master’s thesis! Senthamilaruvi’s read more

New article by Behnam Amin-Ahmadi et al.

Beam Team postdoc Behnam Amin-Ahamdi’s article entitled “Effect of a pre-aging treatment on the mechanical behaviors of ... read more

New article by Harshad Paranjape et al.

Beam Team postdoc alumnus Harshad Paranjape co-authored an article entitled “In situ, 3D characterization of the deformation ... read more

New article by Yasuhito Suzuki et al.

An article entitled “Kinetics and temperature evolution during the bulk polymerization of methyl methacrylate for vacuum-assisted resin read more

Breakthrough research performed by Ashley Bucsek

Ashley Bucsek, BeamTeam PhD candidate, performed the first-ever dark-field X-ray diffraction measurements on shape memory alloys at ... read more

Harshad Paranjape hired by Confluent

Congrats to Harshad Paranjape, BeamTeam postdoc, on his new position with Confluent Medical Technologies! read more

Poster Presentation by ADAPT Grad Students

ADAPT graduate research students presented posters at the USACM Thematic Conference on Recent Advances in Integrated Computational and ... read more

New article accepted in Materials Science and Engineering A.

Effect of Machined Feature Size Relative to the Microstructure Size on the Superelastic Performance in Polycrystalline NiTi Shape ... read more

Mines Team Wins CASMART/SMST Design Challenge

Congratulations to team Ares Advanced Apartments (A^3) who won the 2017 CASMART/SMST Student Hardware Design Challenge for their design read more

Prof. Stebner Wins Junior Faculty of the Year Award

Aaron Stebner was named Junior Faculty Researcher of the Year at Colorado School of Mines. read more